#CMAskTheJudge Episode 155: Dire Overload

Welcome to Episode 155 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each episode includes a video that poses a question regarding the rules of Magic. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question is about copying double-faced cards!



Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time we want to know what happens when you clone your opponent's Tovolar, Dire Overlord // Tovolar, the Midnight Scourge at night and then cast a second spell to make it day. What happens with your Clone? Comment on our video (or below) with your answer and then check whether you got it right or wrong!


clone tovolar tovolar

Click Here to Reveal the Answer!



15 Kommentare

Um einen Kommentar zu verfassen, melde dich mit deinem Cardmarket-Konto an oder eröffne ein neues Konto.

zellblitz2(10.01.2022 12:47)

Instead of using clone and we use this card " Mirrorhall Mimic // Ghastly Mimicry " will transform correct? If yes what happens to the aura? Goes to the graveyard?

MartinaT
amrtina(10.01.2022 18:15)

Zellblitz2 it will transform but not the way you want it to.

Mirrorhall Mimic enters, copies a creature (let's say tovolar, dire overlord like in the video). Night comes, Mirrorhall Mimic turnes the back side up... But the copy effect is still active, it's still tovolar, dire overlord and not the werewolf side (the midnight scrouge). It still has daybound, and that daybound will prevent it from turning again.

TL;DR: it flips and it changes nothing.

GoWsamurai(09.01.2022 22:43)

I was wondering if this is the same when I copy a card with dollhouse of horrors. Dollhouse says it copies the creature card and not the just the creature. Or is it always only the front side. In this case the day side?

MartinaT
amrtina(09.01.2022 23:13)

GoWsamurai it's the same. Dollhouse creates a token, and tokens always have only one side. Token will have the same characteristics as whatever's designated as front/top side, in this case the day side.

Moliveira(07.01.2022 19:55)

What happens to the Nightbound text? Lose its effect?
A permanent with Nightbound should transform into Daybound Face if it becames Day.
So, because there's no Daybound Face, it won't transform, is that it?

MartinaT
amrtina(07.01.2022 20:57)

Moliveira nothing at all happens. There's no other face so the card doesn't flip, whatever is on top is still valid.

onkelhotte(07.01.2022 13:08)

Uhhh, I did not know, that I can copy legendary creatures with the Clone. Since when is this possible?

PhilXan(07.01.2022 14:14)

Onkelhotte I don't think it was ever explicitly not possible, although there was a time when you'd simply immediately put the new Legendary permanent with the same name in its owner's graveyard.

But there have been many different 'Legend rules' over the years. Currently, any number of Legendary permanents with the same name can be on the battlefield at a time - but no player may control more than one. If they do, the next time state-based actions are checked, that player chooses one of those permanents to keep in play and puts the other(s) in their graveyard. (So yes, Clone-ing your own Legendary creature is usually not advisable)

MartinaT
amrtina(07.01.2022 16:09)

Onkelhotte exactly as PhilXan said - it was always possible, but some old rules made it less than desirable. As a general rule, if the card doesn't say specifically "except for the legendary creatures", you can copy them, take control over them etc just like with the "regular" creatures.

VESF18(07.01.2022 11:12)

What happen with the clone?
Why you don't simply give us the [this part deleted by moderator] answer?

ProPeanuts(07.01.2022 11:41)

VESF18 You do have to click on "Click Here to Reveal the Answer!" No need for harsh language.

This comment was deleted.

VESF18(07.01.2022 11:44)

ProPeanuts Yes, I did not see it... Anyway, it is not harsh laguage. I put *****
And why the hide the answer?

TobiHenke(07.01.2022 11:58)

VESF18 – Some people like to come here and post their own answer to the question in the comments before checking the solution.

VESF18(07.01.2022 12:35)

TobiHenke Ah, I see... Sorry then.

cardPreview