#CMAskTheJudge Episode 44 - Sarkhan & Co

Episode 44 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's involves planeswalkers and dragons, but fortunately not an Iron Throne.

Now We Know What They Are

Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time, our judge wants to know what happens if Sarkhan the Masterless's +1 ability is activated. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!

Kiora, Behemoth Beckoner Sarkhan the Masterless The Elderspell

Since Teferi, Time Raveler's +1 ability was activated, you are allowed to cast sorcery spells on your opponent's turn in this case. You still won't be able to cast The Elderspell targeting Sarkhan or Kiora, Behemoth Beckoner, as upon the resolution of Sarkhan's +1 ability, your opponent's planeswalkers become creatures and only creatures. The Elderspell, in this case, can only legally target your opponent's walkers before Sarkhan's ability resolves.

As for the second question, Kiora's -1 ability can still be activated after combat, even though Kiora isn't currently a planeswalker. Sarkhan's +1 makes planeswalkers 4/4 dragon creatures with flying - it doesn't take away their loyalty counters or their loyalty abilities. Rather, they just change the permanent type for the duration of the turn. Additionally, if planeswalker-turned-creature this way is dealt damage, it won't lose loyalty counters.

2 Kommentare

Um einen Kommentar zu verfassen, melde dich mit deinem Cardmarket-Konto an oder eröffne ein neues Konto.

Gadang82(2019-06-15 22:36)

Followup question: If my creature-turned-planeswalker activates an ability which reduces it´s loyalty to "0", it will be put to the graveyard at the moment when sarkhan abillity ends (eot)?

sluggy10(2019-06-07 12:24)

So, kiora isn't a planeswalker this turn, but she can still activates her planeswalker capacity?
That's weird... Still good to know though, 'cause nobody would believe me xD