#CMAskTheJudge Episode 56 - Chalice & Trinisphere

Episode 56 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question is about the mystical orb that is Trinisphere.

Can I Chalice the Way I Want to Chalice?

Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time, our judge wants to know if you can cast a Chalice of the Void with only one charge counter with a Trinisphere in play. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!

Chalice of the Void Trinisphere

You are able to cast the Chalice with X=1. When casting Chalice, after putting it on the stack, you choose the intended value of X and only after that, the actual cost is calculated. You will have to pay three mana instead of two, but that won't affect value of X or the number of charge counters on Chalice. It also won't change the converted mana cost on the stack, The CMC of Chalice on one is two (so it can be countered by Spell Snare). The CMC and actual paid cost aren't always the same. Alternatively, if you try to cast Chalice with X=0, you will also have to pay three mana but the CMC on the stack will be zero and Chalice will enter with zero charge counters.

4 Kommentare

Beaver(2019-09-11 19:28)

Good to know is that delve allow you to pay less than 3 mana with a trinisphere. Delve is worded as a static ability that let you exile graveyard cards to pay for the mana cost. It is not reducing the cost and it is not an alternative cost like phyrexian mana.

Another strange situation is 'sunburst' which checks for kind of colored mana paid to cast this spell. So with trinisphere, you can cast engineered explosives for x is 0, pay 3 extra with 3 different colors and get 3 counters.

Anybodyyoudontknow(2019-09-06 16:54)

You usually play CoV as an unbeatable "free-win" card for the first game of the match (like Trinisphere, Blood Moon and Ensnaring Bridge), since a chalice on 1 in itself often is enough to kill certain Deck types, cutting Spellslingers off their cantrips, Midrange off their interaction and Infect off near everything.
But this only really works when played on turn 1 or 2, before your opponent has a chance to cast his onesrops. So you want to make sure to have it in your opening hand (hopefully alongside of a Gemstone Cavern or a Simian Spirit Guide), thus the maindeck playset in Eldrazi and Prison decks.

likeasnake(2019-09-06 16:44)

Simple rule, no matter how much the manacosts of a spell get reduced or increased, no matter which value for any X you choose, Trinisphere is always the last card to ask: did you spend less than 3 Mana? If you did, you'll pay 3. This doesn't prevent you from choosing other values for X or play effects that reduce the manacost of your spells.

damaz90(2019-09-06 12:44)

Oh Yes. So is usefull to play them toghether. Right?

I think CoV is a good card, but 4 stacks for it is too much, probably 2 in side is better.

cardPreview