#CMAskTheJudge Episode 143: Beastly Persistence

Welcome to Episode 143 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each episode includes a video that poses a question regarding the rules of Magic. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question is about the perilous pitfalls of protection.



Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time we want to know how Teferi's Protection and Questing Beast interact. What happens when your opponent casts Teferi's signature spell and you want to attack them with the Beast (which has gained lifelink) and Fynn, the Fangbearer? Comment on our video (or below) with your answer and then check whether you got it right or wrong!


questing beast teferi's protection

Click Here to Reveal the Answer!



2 Comments

To leave your comment please log into your Cardmarket account or create a new account.

IronMaiden666(10.09.2021 13:33)

Good question, I try:

Protection prevents you from being damaged but Questing Beast says " [...] Damage [...] can't be prevented" so the creatures deal damage, lifelink gives you 4 live and the opponent gets 4 poision counters from the deathtouchers. The tricky part is that the opponents life total doesn't change due to Teferis Protection. In conclusion: Oneself is up 4 life and the opponent is up 4 poision counters (and in case one of the creatures is a Commander, up the Commander damage equal to the creatures power) but the opponent life total doesn't change. Yes that's weird.

MartinaT
amrtina(10.09.2021 15:10)

@IronMaiden666 it is weird but the answer is flawless!

cardPreview