#CMAskTheJudge Episode 147: Ping

Welcome to Episode 147 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each episode includes a video that poses a question regarding the rules of Magic. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question is about getting in touch—with deathtouch.



Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time we want to know how Saryth, the Viper's Fang affects so-called "pingers" like Prodigal Sorcerer. Does it gain deathtouch in time for the damage, and does this damage count for deathtouch? Comment on our video (or below) with your answer and then check whether you got it right or wrong!


prodigal sorcerer saryth

Click Here to Reveal the Answer!



8 Comments

To leave your comment please log into your Cardmarket account or create a new account.

SRADracer(09.10.2021 18:48)

This one is easy for me.
In my playgroup, someone has a deck with Goblin Sharpshooter and cards like Basilisk Collar to make it a one sided boardwipe

Housegheist(09.10.2021 01:49)

That one was easy. Saryth is pretty cool.

But another question occured with two other creatures.
What happens when The Scarab God exiles Karametra, God of the Harvest. What happens with Karametras ability of not being a creature, if the devotion-condition can not be met. Is it still a 4/4 Zombie or is it a -/- vanilla card with a land-tutor effect when casting creatures?

MartinaT
amrtina(09.10.2021 13:39)(Edited: 09.10.2021 13:40)

@Housegheist, I made a similar one recently:
Https://www. Cardmarket. Com/en/Magic/Insight/Articles/CMAskTheJudge-Episode-138-Of-Gods-and-Layers

In short - if Karametra doesn't have enough devotion, it's just a black legendary enchantment token, that has no p/t as only creatures have p/t, and no creature type as noncreature cards (except for the tribals) have no creature type. As soon as it does have enough devotion, it will become a black legendary enchantment creature - zombie with p/t 4/4.

Housegheist(10.10.2021 02:15)

@amrtina
I guessed the result without knewing the exactly reason why. Your explanation helped a lot!
Thank you very much for your quick response :)

darkelder(08.10.2021 15:20)

Bye Dragon. Of course the Timmy gets Deathtouch the moment he gets tapped, hence the 1 point of damage will have Deathtouch.

PrimeSeaker(08.10.2021 12:33)

He look's like Rudy :))))

Mishra74(08.10.2021 10:37)(Edited: 08.10.2021 12:05)

Well I think if Timmie over here gets deathtouch, it's damage counts as deathtouch. See below

702. 2b A creature with toughness greater than 0 that’s been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action.

But I am not sure if the Sorcerer gets deathtouch.

Ah, now I know. :-)

cepragassen(08.10.2021 10:06)

Since you tap it as a cost, it's already tapped when it deals the damage, so it does have deathtouch

cardPreview