#CMAskTheJudge Episode 28 - In The Maze

Episode 28 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question involves a ghost and a maze, as well as combat step tricks.

Can You Untap Your Creature?

Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time, our judge wants to know if you can untap your Chapel Geist with your own Maze of Ith at the end of combat. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!

Chapel Geist Maze of Ith

From the moment you declare an attacker, it is "marked" as an attacking creature for as long as you're in the combat step. The same goes for blocking creatures. So that means you can attack with your Chapel Geist to deal two damage to your opponent. Then, at end of combat, after the damage is dealt, you can still use your own Maze of Ith to untap your attacking creature. Maybe because you want to use your creature's tap ability, or, in this case, to prevent your opponents Grizzly Bears from attacking or just to be able to block it just in case.



6 Comments

To leave your comment please log into your Cardmarket account or create a new account.

Gadang82(15.06.2019 23:00)

Hi Jonesy,
Du musst in diesem Fall Lazav in die Bibliothek mischen. Bei Etrata steht zwar ihr Name, gemeint ist aber die Kreatur die angreift.

Mollib(04.11.2018 13:53)

I recommend Reconnaissance for your on creatures this way.

IcyDj(03.11.2018 16:11)

Yes you can do this as long as combat is in the process, thus end of combat is still possible.

Jonesy(03.11.2018 00:32)

Was passiert, wenn ich mit Lazaf Etrata (Gilden von Ravnica) kopiere und mit ihm Schaden zufüge?
Da er seinen Namen behält, aber die Eigenschaften übernimmt, habe ich es so gespielt, dass weder er noch Etrata in die Bib zurück muss, da "Etrata" zurückgemischt werden muss. Wie wäre es richtig?

Sebas74(02.11.2018 13:16)

Why not giving the answer at the end of the video?
I like the idea of the videos!

cardPreview