#CMAskTheJudge Episode 28 - In The Maze
- Maximilian Kretschmer
Episode 28 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question involves a ghost and a maze, as well as combat step tricks.
Can You Untap Your Creature?
Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time, our judge wants to know if you can untap your Chapel Geist with your own Maze of Ith at the end of combat. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!
From the moment you declare an attacker, it is "marked" as an attacking creature for as long as you're in the combat step. The same goes for blocking creatures. So that means you can attack with your Chapel Geist to deal two damage to your opponent. Then, at end of combat, after the damage is dealt, you can still use your own Maze of Ith to untap your attacking creature. Maybe because you want to use your creature's tap ability, or, in this case, to prevent your opponents Grizzly Bears from attacking or just to be able to block it just in case.