#CMAskTheJudge Episode 30 - A Devious(or not) Cover-Up

Episode 30 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question involves a counterspell, an uncounterable spell, and replacement effect headaches.

How Does the Cover-Up Work Out?

This time, our judge wants to know what happens when your opponent casts Devious Cover-Up on your Nezahal, Primal Tide and then casts another one on your Nexus of Fate. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!

Devious Cover-Up Nezahal, Primal Tide Nexus of Fate

There is no rule stopping you from trying to counter an uncounterable spell, so in the first example, you can cast Devious Cover-Up on their Nezahal, Primal Tide - it just won't counter it. You will, however, be able to shuffle cards back into your library, even if you fail to counter the spell.

The second case is significantly more complicated. You can, of course, counter Nexus of Fate with Devious Cover-Up, but two replacement effects will then want to happen at the same time. Normally, when two replacement effects happen at the same time, the affected player gets to choose which effect happens first, but that's not what happens in this case. Devious Cover-Up has a self-replacement effect, which would happen before Nexus of Fate has a chance to shuffle itself back in. As a result, Devious Cover-Up would exile the Nexus of Fate.



4 Comments

To leave your comment please log into your Cardmarket account or create a new account.

Support-Stefan(23.11.2018 15:57)

I checked with our writer on the Nexus of Fate question and he confirmed that he was mistaken. The text is updated to reflect the actual outcome :). Nice catch guys!

MichaelW(23.11.2018 15:33)

Please double check your answer on Nexus and Devious Cover Up, thanks :)

sluggy10(23.11.2018 14:49)

But i don't understand,
If i counter nexus, it's exiled by devious instead, so it won't go in graveyard. And it go in your library ONLY if it should be placed in graveyard.
Devious : If that spell is countered this way, exile it INSTEAD of putting it into owner's graveyard"
Nexus : If nexus would be put into a graveyard (wich is not here) from anywhere, shuffle it into library"

cardPreview