#CMAskTheJudge Episode 31 - Burning with Beacon
Episode 31 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question is about a jump-started Beacon Bolt.
How Much Damage is Dealt?
Welcome back to #CMAskTheJudge, this time with the fantastic Martina Eva Tonković, who judges at many of our Cardmarket Series events! For her first outing, our judge wants to know how much damage Beacon Bolt deals. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!
The important question here is whether Beacon Bolt counts itself or not. Although Beacon Bolt does count cards both in exile and in the graveyard, it doesn't count itself as it's in neither of those zones when it checks. When dealing damage, Beacon Bolt is on the stack, which is separate zone from the graveyard and exile. In this case, it only deals two damage, as there are only two cards in graveyard (Opt and Lightning Strike).