#CMAskTheJudge Episode 4 - Copy Into Transform

Episode four of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below.

What Happens When Garruk Relentless Attempts to Transform?

Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This week, our judge wants to know what happens to a copied Garruk Relentless / Garruk, the Veil-Cursed after killing an opposing Grizzly Bears. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you can find the correct answer below the image!

Garruk Relentless

When the second ability of Garruk Relentless resolves, the Grizzly Bears will die and Garruk's first ability will trigger. But this is where the problems lies. Garruks first trigger is a so-called "state trigger." It triggers whenever its conditions are met and it is not on the stack. The problem is, a copy of a card with transform is not able to transform, because it does not know what the backside looks like. So the trigger will resolve, do nothing and will then trigger again. If nobody is able to stop this loop by killing Garruk or giving him more counters, the game will end in a draw.



8 Comments

To leave your comment please log into your Cardmarket account or create a new account.

NYoumans(2018-05-15 15:19)

I'll have to think about this for the "ending games in a draw" commander deck that I've always wanted to build. Mwahahaa!

MaximilianK
AskTheJudge(2018-04-27 17:28)

@Luciferian
You are right, nothing happens when the ability resolves, but the problem is, that the ability will still trigger because its conditions are met but do nothing on resolution

flan95(2018-04-27 16:42)

@Derva If the expertise is the first spell cast this turn you get to cast a 3cmc-or-less spell but have to pay 1 extra. Additional costs don't change the cmc of a spell.

Luciferian(2018-04-27 16:38)

711. 5. Only permanents represented by double-faced cards can transform. (See rule 701. 26, “Transform.”) If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform any permanent that isn’t represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens. #

Example: A Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of Wildblood Pack (the back face of a double-faced card). The Clone will be a copy of the Wildblood Pack. Because the Clone is itself not a double-faced card, it can’t transform.

Example: A player casts Cytoshape, causing a Kruin Outlaw (the front face of a double-faced card) to become a copy of Elite Vanguard (a 2/1 Human Soldier creature) until end of turn. The player then casts Moonmist, which reads, in part, “Transform all Humans.” Because the copy of Elite Vanguard is a double-faced card, it will transform. The resulting permanent will have its back face up, but it will still be a copy of Elite Vanguard that turn.

701. 26c If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent that isn’t represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens.

Following the above 2 rules, nothing will happen

fury86(2018-04-27 16:08)

Lol, wait, what? "If nobody is able to stop this loop by killing Garruk or giving him more counters, the game will end in a draw."

Ok then, this is kinda weird but somehow i understand, it really needs to be fixed...

MrSquirr3LeX(2018-04-27 15:24)

Do we have the same situation with Huntmaster of the Fells?

HolyOnePT(2018-04-27 15:21)

This Video is Unavailable :(

Derva(2018-04-27 14:48)

I would much rather know what happens to a Yahenni´s Expertise when a damping sphere is on the field.
Do i have to pay 1 mana for the free spell?
Can i only pick a spell with cmc 2 or less cause it would be a cmc 3 spell with damping sphere?
Can i still cast a cmc3 spell for free?

cardPreview