#CMAskTheJudge Episode 42 - Ashiok vs. Dredge

Episode 42 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, then check your work below. This week's question is about how Ashiok, Dream Render's second ability works.

What If It's up Against Dredge?

Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time, our judge wants to know what happens if Ashiok, Dream Render mills cards that have "when this card is put into graveyard" abilities. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!

Ashiok, Dream Render Creeping Chill Narcomoeba

In this case, the milled cards are Creeping Chill and Narcomoeba. Both of them have "when this card is put into graveyard from library" triggers.

First, Ashiok's ability is activated and the two cards are put directly into graveyard from the library. That is the moment when their abilities trigger, but they are not put on the stack just yet. Then, the opponent's graveyard gets exiled as a part of the resolution of Ashiok's ability. After that, the triggers are put on the stack, but they do nothing as the cards have already changed zones.

It would be a different scenario if the ability says "when this card is put into graveyard, exile it instead" or "shuffle it into library instead" (Example: Nexus of Fate), as in that case, it's not actually a triggered ability, but rather a replacement effect and as such, doesn't use the stack.


To leave your comment please log into your Cardmarket account or create a new account.

ferenczi87(11.05.2019 09:17)

Ashiok's ability resolves completely before the triggered abilities

Thor-Naadoh(10.05.2019 21:01)

I'd say, let's be grateful that *Ashiok* is worded this way.
Both, Chill and Moeba would function just fine if (s)he simply had Leyline of the Void's effect instead of the first ability.

By the way, there's a huge different between "if" and "when" - as a rule of thumb, "instead" always comes with an "if".

xakronar(10.05.2019 12:44)

What if Creeping Chill had a different wording? Let's say it was this:
"When Creeping Chill is put into your graveyard from your library, Creeping Chill deals 3 damage to each opponent and you gain 3 life. Then exile it."

With this wording, the 3 life drain would still happen, right? Even though by the time this ability resolves, Creeping Chill would already have been put in exile through Ashioks ability.

So I guess let's just all be happy that Creeping Chill's wording is as it is ;)