#CMAskTheJudge Episode 46 - Divine Army

Episode 46 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question is about Amass and a Visitation.

What Happens to the Token?

Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time, our judge wants to know what happens if Divine Visitation on the battlefield when an Amass card like Relentless Advance is played. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!

Divine Visitation Relentless Advance

Amass will first check if you already have an army (no, in this case), and then attempt to create an Army token. Instead of an Army, a 4/4 Angel token with flying and vigilance will be created. Amass won't try to create any more tokens after that even though there isn't an Army token on the battlefield – you won't enter endless loop or get infinite tokens. After that, Amass will try to put 3 counters on an Army, but will fail. The Angel won't get any counters.

1 Comment

To leave your comment please log into your Cardmarket account or create a new account.

hitman-47(2019-06-21 15:21)

Well that`s a bummer :( The keyword here is "INSTEAD"
When I first read the card I thought "ADDITIONAL" :((