#CMAskTheJudge Episode 56 - Chalice & Trinisphere
- Martina Eva Tonkovic
Episode 56 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question is about the mystical orb that is Trinisphere.
Can I Chalice the Way I Want to Chalice?
Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time, our judge wants to know if you can cast a Chalice of the Void with only one charge counter with a Trinisphere in play. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!
You are able to cast the Chalice with X=1. When casting Chalice, after putting it on the stack, you choose the intended value of X and only after that, the actual cost is calculated. You will have to pay three mana instead of two, but that won't affect value of X or the number of charge counters on Chalice. It also won't change the converted mana cost on the stack, The CMC of Chalice on one is two (so it can be countered by Spell Snare). The CMC and actual paid cost aren't always the same. Alternatively, if you try to cast Chalice with X=0, you will also have to pay three mana but the CMC on the stack will be zero and Chalice will enter with zero charge counters.