#CMAskTheJudge Episode 76: Ch-ch-changes

Here's Episode 76 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each episode includes a video that poses a question regarding the rules of Magic. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question is about the layer system.

Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time, our judge wants to know what happens when your Dryad of the Ilysian Grove is turned into a Fish with no abilities by your opponent's Ichthyomorphosis. Comment on our video (or below) with your answer and then check whether you got it right or wrong!


dryad of the ilysian grove

Click here for the answer!



4 Comments

To leave your comment please log into your Cardmarket account or create a new account.

Kylie(2020-02-25 20:38)

Hello,
The craeture is a 0/1 and you cant play more Lands and the lands have every basic typs.

SnazzyRascal(2020-02-23 12:30)

I *badly* need to learn how the heck layers work

sluggy10(2020-03-04 11:03)

SnazzyRascal :
If i understood it well, you apply effect from layer 1 to over 9000 (but i think there are less than that)
So, when you have a situation like this, the layer where dryad as its effect (lands are all type) is effective before the "dryad doesn't have capacity anymore".

Another example is the well-know "i enchant my swamp with an enchantment who says it's an island", and somebody put Blood Moon on the board. Blood moon go over everything else, and the enchantment-island thing does nothing.

Don't know if it's better for you know? (hope i haven't made any mistake Martina :D)

PhilXan(2020-03-31 12:59)

SnazzyRascal

Layers are a way of ordering which effect occurs when; they are applied in turn, from layer 1 to layer 7. The counter-intuitive thing is a later layer taking away an ability in a previous layer doesn't take away the effect that previous layer had. It's a bit of a strange concept to wrap your head around, but once you get it, it's just a matter of knowing what happens in which layer.

The archetypal example is Magus of the Moon vs. Oko, Thief of Crowns. You'd say Oko turning the Magus into an Elk with no abilties would mean nonbasic lands are no longer Mountains, right? Well, no. The Magus' ability takes place in Layer 4, dealing with 'Type-changing effects'. Oko's removing of abilities occurs in Layer 6.

So it goes like this:
Layer 4: Magus turns nonbasics into Mountains. Oko turns Magus into an Elk.
Layer 5: Oko turns Magus green.
Layer 6: Oko removes Magus' abilities.
Layer 7: Oko turns Magus into a 3/3

So nonbasics turn into Mountains before Oko removes the Magus' ability that does that.

(This AskTheJudge is a bit a of trick question: it's a variation on the Magus/Oko example to make people go "Oh, I know this one!" - but the Dryad-question doesn't really have much to do with layers.)

cardPreview