Some interactions I'll cover in these articles will be actual ruling questions. Others will be about common misplays I have observed when playing. These latter ones will more often than not fall into the "just read the card" camp. Nevertheless, I think it is important to be aware of these possible missteps so that you don't (intentionally or unintentionally) get cheated on by your opponent.
All of the interactions discussed in this article will be about Virtual World, which still is the best deck of the format at the time of writing. Without further ado, let's get into the nitty-gritty world of rulings.
The first question we tackle is one that frequently came up when Virtual World first entered the format several weeks ago. Virtual World Hime - Nyannyan can special summon itself from the graveyard if a level 3 monster is summoned to your field. Most of the other main deck Virtual World monsters let you send Virtual World cards to the graveyard and special summon themselves from the hand. The question arose whether or not Nyannyan would trigger in the graveyard if it was sent there by a level 3 Virtual World monster like Virtual World Xiezhi - Jiji. The relevant text on Jiji is:
|If this card is in your hand: You can target 1 "Virtual World" card you control; send 1 "Virtual World" card of a different type (Monster, Spell, Trap) from your Deck to the GY, and if you do, Special Summon this card, then, during the End Phase of this turn, you can add 1 "Virtual World" monster from your GY to your hand, except "Virtual World Xiezhi - Jiji".|
So, Jiji could target a Virtual World spell or trap card, dump Nyannyan into the graveyard and special summon itself from the hand. Many people argued that in this scenario the Nyannyan that was just sent to the graveyard by Jiji could trigger in a new chain because Jiji says "and if you do," assuming the "and if you do" conjunction is not a simultaneous effect. However, this is wrong. A Nyannyan which was just sent to graveyard by Jiji cannot activate its effect in a new chain after Jiji's summon.
To understand why, we have to understand Problem-Solving Card Text. If we take a look at the "and if you do" conjunction, we will see that both happen at the same time. Thus, even though Jiji requires a card to be sent to the graveyard to special summon itself (causation), sending a card and special summoning still happen at the same time. In the context of the above question this means that sending Nyannyan and special summoning Jiji happen at the same time. Thus, Nyannyan is not yet in the graveyard in the moment when Jiji is summoned (or rather is sent at the same time Jiji is summoned) and cannot activate its effect to special summon itself from the graveyard.
I have seen Virtual World Gate - Xuanwu being used to revive Virtual World Kyubi - Shenshen countless of times. The player then often started breaking the opponent's board, telling their opponent that all cards that leave the field get banished by Shenshen. However, in this case they do not get banished because Xuanwu says: "Special Summon it, but negate its effects." This restriction also translates to Virtual World Beast - Jiujiu. You cannot use Xuanwu to special summon Jiujiu and then use Jiujiu's effect to send a card on the field to the graveyard. (Technically, you can activate Jiujiu's effect; it would just resolve negated.)
This is obviously not a ruling question but a "read the card" situation. Nonetheless I have seen many a player forget about Xuanwu's effect negation restriction. This is probably due to the fact that all the Virtual World main deck monsters do not have any on-field effects anyway. People tend to overlook the effect negation because most of the Virtual World monsters are not affected by it. But you should keep in mind that the Virtual World extra deck monsters do in fact have on-field effects and that those effects are negated if they get special summoned by Xuanwu.
Another situation I have frequently observed is someone using Xuanwu in the opponent's battle phase to put a monster onto the field for protection. This is actually wrong on two levels and, again, it is a case of "read the card" that does not require any other rulings. Xuanwu's special summon effect is preceded by the activation condition "During your Main Phase:"—thus, you cannot use it during your opponent's battle phase. Moreover, you cannot use it during your opponent's turn at all. Also, you cannot use it during your own battle phase to put an additional monster onto the field to go for the game. You would have to use Xuanwu in your main phase before you enter the battle phase.
Still I have witnessed people attempting to use Xuanwu during the battle phase, either their own or the opponent's, countless times. Keep the activation condition in mind so you don't accidentally get cheated on by your opponent or accidentally cheat on them.
This was the first article of my "Rulings to Know" series. I will try to come up with an article for each format and elaborate on the most common misplays you might encounter. If you have a ruling question or would like me to discuss a given card interaction or situation in a future article, please leave a comment below. (No, MST does not negate opponent's spell or trap cards!) I will try to answer all of your questions and maybe even cover them in a future article.
Opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and not necessarily Cardmarket.