#CMAskTheJudge Episode 43 - Massacre Girl

Episode 43 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each installment in this series will include a video that poses a rules question about MTG. Watch the video, comment with your answer, then check your work below. This week's question is about Massacre Girl's triggered ability.

How Many Creatures Will Die?

Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time, our judge wants to know what happens if Massacre Girl enters the battlefield and no creatures die at that time, but Barrier of Bones gets sacrificed later in the turn. Oh, and one creature also has Indestructible. Comment on our video (or below) with your answers and, additionally, you will find the correct answer below the images!

Massacre Girl Barrier of Bones Pitiless Pontiff

The correct answer is: Everyone but Massacre Girl dies.

When she first enters the battlefield, both Carnage Tyrant and Pitiless Pontiff get -1/-1. Saprolings and Barrier of Bones enter later in the turn and are not affected by that first trigger. However, when Barrier of Bones is sacrificed, Massacre Girl is triggered again! All other creatures get -1/-1 and as the result, all your saprolings and Pitiless Pontiff die. (Pitiless Pontiff may have Indestructible, but its toughness is less than 0, so it dies as well). That triggers Massacre Girl four more times for a total of six triggers that turn – meaning Carnage Tyrant also dies. The ability doesn't target, so Hexproof doesn't prevent Massacre Girl's ability at all.

1 Comentario

Para dejar un comentario, Iniciar sesión o Registrarse por favor.

seventh-samurai(2019-06-14 15:09)

Actually the Pontiff, doesn‘t have indestructible.
The Wall is sacrificed to activate the Pontiffs ability, that means, the Pontiffs ability is placed on the stack, then Massacre Girl triggers. Massacre Girls trigger resolves, the Pontiff and Saprolings die, resulting in the death of the Dinosaur and then the ability of the Pontiff tries to resolves, but fails to do so, because he‘s long dead.

cardPreview