#CMAskTheJudge Episode 94: Clean It Up

Here's Episode 94 of Cardmarket's AskTheJudge series. Each episode includes a video that poses a question regarding the rules of Magic. Watch the video, comment with your answer, and then check your work below. This week's question is about the way the cleanup step works.



Welcome to #CMAskTheJudge! This time our judge wants to know what happens when you have Rielle, the Everwise on the battlefield, and finish your turn with eight cards in hand. Comment on our video (or below) with your answer and then check whether you got it right or wrong!


rielle

Click here for the answer!



4 Comentarios

To leave your comment please log into your Cardmarket account or create a new account.

sluggy10(03.08.2020 13:38)

The same goes if an (evil) opponent has a Jin-Gitaxias in game?

I discard my hand at the end of turn, but draw x2 cards, and Don't discard again?

MartinaT
amrtina(03.08.2020 16:29)

@sluggy10, the short answer is no.

End phase is divided into end step and cleanup step. If the opponent has Jin Gitaxias, cards are drawn in the beginning of end step and discarded in cleanup step. Nothing triggers in cleanup step and it's not repeated, and end step itself never repeats.

In this videos, nothing happens in end step, but there is a trigger in cleanup step which makes it repeat after the trigger is resolved.

Tikosh(25.07.2020 08:06)

Small addition: You do not get another Cleanup Step because you have 8 cards again but because an ability triggered.

MartinaT
amrtina(26.07.2020 10:36)

@Tikosh, absolutely true! Admittedly, I made it sound a bit unclear, my apologies for that. You get another cleanup anytime anything triggers during the cleanup, regardlessly of the number of cards in your hand.

Cartas mencionadas

cardPreview